CAMS NSW Supersprints - 2018 Season Wrap-up

24 November 2018 / Words by Joe Kovacic, Photos by Rob Wilkins & Joe Kovacic

Round 6 at Wakefield Park 16 Sep 2018

The MX-5 Club of NSW hosted Round 6 of the Championship at Wakefield Park Goulburn in relatively good weather conditions. We had a total of 57 competitors attend a cold windy drivers briefing. All drivers had the opportunity of 6 runs despite the fact that there was a stoppage after lunch while oil was cleared from the circuit after one of the non-MX-5 race cars expired on Turn 10.

A special thank you to all our club track officials on running the best Supersprint round for the year. Congratulations to all the 15 drivers that represented our MX-5 Club so proudly. Congratulations to Bryan Shedden, Luke Kovacic, Tony King and Ralph Thompson for achieving 1st place in their respective classes.

This round the MX-5 Club of NSW placed first for the club championship collecting 324 points. Going into the last Round, ARDC lead the Club Championship by 77 points with 1931 points ahead of the MX-5 Club of NSW on 1854 points. The HSV/HDT Owners Club of NSW are in a very comfortable 3rd place with 1359 points.

Click here for all of Rob's photos


Round 7 at SMP Gardner Circuit 14 Oct 2018

A very wet start to Round 7 hosted by ARDC was held at Sydney Motorsport Park Gardner Circuit on a day that promised to be bad all day, but turned out surprisingly good with all competitors getting 5 runs with at least 3 runs on a drying track. The first MX-5 run group was red flagged for ten minutes due to extremely wet and dangerous track conditions.

Thank you to all of our 14 MX-5 Club drivers who represented our club gallantly against a barrage of ARDC drivers. A special mention to our 1st in Class achievers, Keith Monaghan, Tony Williams, Malcolm Steel, Ralph Thompson and Russ Maxwell.

As far as the Club Championship is concerned, the MX-5 Club of NSW has dropped a bundle of points today with a bunch of them being away competing in the 12hr Regularity at Winton. So, while the cat's away the mice will play and ARDC did just that, scoring 358 points to our 227. ARDC now comfortably lead the Club Championship with 2285 points, some 215 points ahead of the MX-5 Club on 2070. With only one round to go that should be a winning lead. The HSV/HDT Owners Club of NSW have a strangle hold on 3rd place with 1615 points.

Click here for all of Rob's photos.


Round 8 at Wakefield Park 3-4 November 2018

The final round 8 for the 2018 NSW Supersprint Championship was held jointly with the National Australian Supersprint Championship at Wakefield Park on the weekend of 3-4 November 2018. Only 8 MX-5 Club members competed over the weekend in a total field of 59 competitors. Congratulations to Michael Demaio (RC-B), Paul Fraser (LMRC-A), Malcolm Steel (LMRC-B), and Russ Maxwell (TA-A) for winning National Titles in their respective class.

ARDC walked away with the Club Championship with 2566 points ahead of the MX-5 Club of NSW who, unfortunately, faded in the straight and placed second on 2274 points. The HSV/HDT Owners Club of NSW were third on 1812 points.

Click here for all of Rob's photos



Congratulations to all of our Supersprint Class Champions for the 2018 season: Michael Demaio (1B), Paul Fraser (2A), Malcolm Steel (2B), Marty Voormeulen (5C), Ralph Thompson (6A), and Russ Maxwell (6B).