NSW Supersprints 2019 Round 1

11 June 2019 / Words by Joe Kovacic, Photos by Rob Wilko & Joe Kovacic

The opening round of the NSW Supersprint Championship was held at SMP Gardner Circuit on 24 March 2019. Hosted by ARDC, a very warm to hot start on a day that promised to be a great opening to the new season. All competitors managed to get four runs only due to the day being called early so competitors could attend the NSW Supersprints trophy presentation for the 2018 season.



Thank you to all of our 9 MX-5 Club drivers who represented our club gallantly against a barrage of ARDC drivers. Congratulations to Luke Kovacic on having the fastest MX-5 on the day with a time of 1:48.3858. Congratulations to all of our 9 drivers on their results as follows.


Driver Place Class Time
Jamie Martin 1 2A 1:59.02
Malcolm Steel 2 2B 1:52.69
Ken Hardy 3 2B 1:57.72
Jamie Collins 8 2D 2:00.19
Luke Kovacic 3 6B 1:48.38
Ralph Thompson 5 6B 1:49.78
Russ Maxwell 6 6B 1:49.78
David Alland 8 6B 2:00.24
Jason Russell 2 6C 1:56.67

As far as the Club Championship is concerned, the Mazda MX-5 Car Club of NSW with only nine competitors has dropped a bundle of points today only managing 4th place in the Championship. So the pointscore after the first round has ARDC in 1st place on 493 pts, 2nd place HSV Club 256 pts, 3rd place Manly Waringah Sports Car Club 184 pts and 4th place MX-5 Club of NSW on 155 pts.

The next Supersprint round is at Wakefield Park to be hosted by the Mini Car Club of NSW.


 Click here for Rob Wilko's complete photo album (265 photos)