NSW Supersprints 2019 Round 2

11 June 2019 / Words by Joe Kovacic, Photos by Rob Wilko

Sunday 28 April 2019 was the date for Round 2 of the NSW Supersprint Championship at Wakefield Park. It was a fresh and cool start to the day hosted by Mini Car Club of NSW. As the day warmed up, some hot times and lap records were set by some of the drivers. Some competitors managed to get seven runs if they wanted them due to the dummy grid being run by yours truly. We usually see a whole group of MX-5s on the starting grid which didn't occur this weekend, only to amazingly see a whole group of Commodores from the HSV Club instead.



Thank you to all of our seven MX-5 Club drivers who represented our club gallantly against a barrage of ARDC drivers. Congratulations goes to Luke Kovacic on having the fastest MX-5 on the day (1:05.0803). Congratulations also goes to Jamie Martin and Marty Voormeulen on 1st places in their classes. Congratulations to all of our seven drivers on their results as follows.

Driver Place Class Time
Jamie Martin 1 2A 1:14.77
Ken Hardy 4 2B 1:13.41
Marty Voormeulen 1 5C 1:11.64
Luke Kovacic 2 6B 1:05.08
Ralph Thompson 3 6B 1:08.23
Russ Maxwell 4 6B 1:08.76
David Alland 6 6B 1:12.99


As far as the Club Championship is concerned, the Mazda MX-5 Club of NSW with only 7 competitors has dropped a bundle of points today only managing 4th place in the Championship. So the pointscore after the second round has ARDC in 1st place on 1003 pts, 2nd place HSV Club 455pts, 3rd place Manly Waringah Sports Car Club 341pts and 4th place MX5 Club of NSW on 301 pts.

The next Supersprint round is at SMP North Circuit to be hosted by the NSW Road Racing Club.

Click here for Rob Wilko's complete photo album (217 photos)