NSW Supersprints 2019 Round 3

11 June 2019 / Words & Photos by Joe Kovacic

Round 3 of the NSW Supersprint Championship was held at Sydney Motorsport Park Druitt (North) circuit in glorious sunshine on Sunday 26 May 2019, although the first session experienced a light drizzle that made it a little slippery.

We usually see a whole group of MX-5s on the starting grid which didn't occur this weekend again. There was only a small field of 82 cars entered in five run groups which equated to five x ten minute sessions and plenty of track time.

Thank you to the NSW Road Racing Club on such a well run event. A special mention and congratulations to David Lawler from the MX-5 Club of NSW who was Clerk of the Course for the day. Because David held such a efficient drivers brief all competitors managed to get plenty of track time.

Thank you to all of our nine MX-5 Club drivers who represented our club gallantly against a barrage of ARDC drivers. Congratulations goes to Luke Kovacic on having the fastest MX-5 on the day. Congratulations also goes to Jamie Martin on his 1st place in his Class. The results for our nine drivers are as follows.

Driver Place Class Time
Jamie Martin 1 2A 1:21.4044
Malcolm Steel 2 2B 1:17.2220
Ken Hardy 4 2B 1:18.7081
Mark Kavanagh 5 2B 1:19.0590
Marty Voormeulen 3 5C 1:18.0749
Luke Kovacic 2 6B 1:10.5899
Ralph Thompson 4 6B 1:13.7039
Russ Maxwell 6 6B 1:14.1896
David Alland 7 6B 1:28.7536

In the Club Championship, the Mazda MX-5 Club of NSW with only 9 competitors has dropped a bundle of points today only managing 4th place in the Championship. The pointscore after three rounds has ARDC in 1st place on 1501pts, 2nd place HSV Club 678pts, 3rd place Manly Warringah Sporting Car Club 496pts and 4th place MX-5 Club of NSW on 468pts.

The next Supersprint round is at SMP South Circuit on Saturday 10 August 2019 to be hosted by the NSW Road Racing Club. This circuit is MX-5 friendly so we need a lot of entries from the MX-5 Club of NSW. Lets show them how it is done.