Supersprint Round 5

31 August 2017 / Words by Ed Cory, Photos by Grass Roots Photos

Sunday 27 August saw 20 Club members competing in Round 5 of the NSW Supersprint Championships at Sydney Motorsport Park's South Circuit. Short and twisty, the circuit also features some serious elevation changes, and is a favourite circuit for our cars. The weather was kind to us with a fine conditions - the anticipated rain holding off until later. The day ran well (5 runs) apart from a stoppage to clean up a oil slick left by a Silvia...

The other excitement was Dan parking across the track in front of the control tower in front of Stewart:-)

The day saw seven of our members win their Class, four of these setting new records. Congratulations to Scott McGarry, David Johnson, Phil Ashton and Matt Tarrant who all set Class records in winning Classes 4A, 4B, 6A and 7A respectively. Congratulations also to Class winners Bryan Shedden (1B), Russell Jason (2A), and Gus Elias (2B).

We also had four second places - Michael Demaio (1B), Luke Kovacic (2C), Dan Szwaj (4B) and Stewart Temesvary (6A), and .. third places - Keith Monaghan (1B), Guy Coles (4B) and Russ Maxwell (6C) .

As well as some great individual performances, the MX-5 Club of NSW extended its lead to 161 points in the Club Championship. With two rounds to go, we will need the continuing support of our members to maintain this lead. The next round is at Wakefield Park on Saturday 9th September. Please see the news article on this event - the Mini Car Club need our support, and the MX-5 Club needs a bigger buffer going into the last round, as many regular Club competitors will be at the Winton 12 hour regularity.

Click the links below to see hundreds of photos by Grass Roots Photos:

Group 1 featuring Matt in #740 and Phil in #821

Group 2 featuring many of our club members

Group 3

Group 4 featuring Gus in #30, David in #451 and Guy in #199

Group 5

Group 6 featuring many of our club members