2020 Annual General Meeting

19 November 2020 / Story by Wesley Hill

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the MX-5 Club of NSW was held on 23 October and given Covid-19 restrictions, was conducted via a virtual online meeting with 33 Club members in attendance with four apologies recorded.

In his report the President (Keith Monaghan) talked about the significant impact that Covid-19 has had on the Club’s activities over the past 6-months with the unfortunate cancellation of some key events including the Club’s 30th Anniversary celebrations and NatMeet (due to be hosted by the Club) as well as the curtailment of Chapter runs to comply with ever-changing NSW health regulations. He thanked all the Chapter Convenors and run organisers for the tremendous efforts made in planning and scheduling events/runs and responding to changes as and when regulations changed. He also thanked the Committee for all their work in difficult and challenging times.

There were a record number of membership tenure awards (144) with three members receiving 30-Year Tenure badges for the first time. All award badges will be mailed to recipients by the end of the year.

The membership database secretary (Bryan Shedden) announced a new award to be called the MXV Award. This is a new award to give formal recognition to all Club members (including Committee members) who are exceptionally active in the Club over several years (commencing from 2013) whether it be participating, organising, officiating, and contributing stories/photos of events. Four members received this award – Barry Luttrell, Bryan Hicks, Rob Wilko and Bryan Shedden.

The President’s Award was given to Ian Combes (Competition Secretary). Ian joined the Club in 2011 and quickly became an active member in the motorsport area, initially supporting David Lawler in running motorsport events eventually taking over the role in 2016. Covid-19 made it very difficult for Ian to organise events under the approved guidelines and procedures but his determination allowed the Club to re-commence motorsport activities a lot earlier than most organisations. Congratulations to Ian.

For those members not able to attend the AGM you can access copies of all the reports by following the links below. Copies of the financial statements/accounts are available from the Treasurer (Julie Sando).

Wesley Hill


Mazda MX-5 Club of NSW Inc. 


AGM Report MX-5 Club 2020

Captains Report AGM 2020

Motorsport Report AGM 2020

Treasurers Report AGM 2020