About Us

Canberra MX-5s at Lake Burley Griffin

The Canberra Chapter of the Mazda MX-5 Club of NSW was formed in 1996 after our Club hosted NatMeet II in Canberra. The Chapter exists to provide regional events for members in the Canberra region. We also enjoy the company of members from the Southern Highlands, the South Coast, the Riverina and the Monaro.

All members have one thing in common – the enjoyment of owning and driving the Mazda MX-5. We have around 150 members in the Canberra Region, from all ages and all walks of life - this is a Club for everyone. The Canberra Chapter's greatest strength is its active membership.


Become a member

For membership details, see here.


Get involved

We have a bunch of regular activities you can come along to:

Coffee and Lies: On the first Saturday of every month we gather for breakfast, chat and catch up with our fellow local enthusiasts and plan our club activities. See here for details.

Monthly runs: Pretty much every month we go for a drive, usually on the third Sunday of the month. Check out our Event Calendar for details of the next one, and read about previous runs in Canberra News.

Weekend and longer trips: Occasionally we’ll got somewhere for a weekend, a long weekend, or longer. Destinations have included the Great Alpine Road, the Great Ocean Road, Beechworth, Tasmania, and lots of other places.


Part of something bigger

Remember that the Canberra Chapter is a part of the Mazda MX-5 Club of NSW. All members are entitled and encouraged to participate in all Club events, regardless of where they live or where the event is held. Check out the rest of the Club web site for things like:


Contact us

Get in touch if you want some further details.


Canberra Convenors

  • Louis Serret (1996-97)
  • Rick Fischer (1997-00)
  • Steve Hinton (2000-03)
  • Sandie Wilcock (2003-05)
  • Paul Beerworth (2005-08)
  • Pat Rooke (2008-10)
  • Damon Muller (2010-12)
  • Bricet Klören & Bob Judd (2012-2014)
  • Tony & Iris McDonald (2014-2016)
  • Norm Barker (2016-2017)
  • James & Giulia Schiemer (2018-2020)
  • Peter and Annemie Wilson (2020-2022)
  • Rod & Maryanne Nicholas (2022+)