Motorkhana Championship Rules

MX-5 Club of NSW Motorkhana Championship Rules


The MX-5 Club motorkhana championship is an annual competition and will consist of at least three rounds in a calendar year.


The championship is open to all members of the Mazda MX-5 Club of NSW, competing in an MX-5.

To be eligible an MX-5 must:

  • Not have fiddle brakes

  • Not have extensive lightweighting

  • Have a windscreen fitted.

The spirit of the event is that competing MX-5s do not have specific motorkhana enhancements, while still allowing for those that have been modified for track events. The championship organisers reserve the right to rule on the eligibility of specific vehicles.


Drivers may complete in one of three classes:

  • Junior: Must be under 18 as of the date of their first motorkhana in the championship year.

  • Ladies: Open to female club members

  • Open: May be contested by any club member

A driver may compete in only one class during the championship, that class being the one they enter for their first motorkhana event of the championship year.

Event Places

Drivers in each class at an event will be ranked based on the points accumulated from their times and penalties at the tests available at that event.

They may attempt each test as many times as allowed at an event, but their best time will be selected from no more than their first 2 attempts at that test.

Penalties will be applied as per the CAMS National Motorkhana Code.

Where an event is affected such that the organisers are unable to provide reliable timing or results, places for that round will be discarded from the championship results.


Points will be awarded at events for each class place as follows:

1st: 15 points                     5th: 4 points
2nd: 10 points   6th: 3 points
3rd: 7 points   7th: 2 points
4th: 5 points    8th: 1 point


Championship Trophies

Trophies will be awarded for 1st through 3rd place in each class.

If a class has only 3 championship drivers then trophies will be awarded to 1st and 2nd places.

If a class has less than 3 championship drivers then a trophy will be awarded to only 1st place.